Our Network

some text

Click for Governance Structure

The Rural Policy Learning Commons’ network is available to anyone interested in comparative rural policy and who would like to connect with researchers and those knowledgeable on specific topics. Our members are students, institutes, policy makers and practitioners, and community members. We have developed a system of profiles to better serve our network and those who are interested in rural topics. Here, you can find information about members of RPLC, their institutes, recent and current research, future plans, and other research interests relevant to the following Teams. Please feel free to contact any of our members if you have further questions about their research.

Policy Theme Teams

Research and policy activities within the RPLC are guided by systematically testing and advancing comparative policy analyses applied to pressing rural and northern policy challenges and opportunities. Teams of participants have been assembled to consider themes of relevance to rural and northern places, and prepare reports on current research insights and policy responses related to the theme; propose actions to the Knowledge Mobilization Teams that will mobilize this knowledge within researcher, policy, practitioner, and public contexts; and propose future directions for research and education.

Knowledge Mobilization Teams

The role of the Knowledge Mobilization Teams are to design and support activities for the mobilization of knowledge from the Theme Teams, engage partners and the general public regarding the themes, and assess policy options relevant to the themes

Team List

General Inquiries: rplc-capr@brandonu.ca

Executive Council

NameRoleContact
Bill AshtonProject Directorashtonw@brandonu.ca
Philomena deLima

Executive Council

Philomena.deLima@inverness.uhi.ac.uk

Sean Markey

Executive Council

spmarkey@sfu.ca

Ryan Gibson

Executive Council

Ryan.Gibson@smu.ca

Secretariat Team

NameRoleContact
Bill AshtonProject Directorashtonw@brandonu.ca
Bill ReimerPast-Project DirectorBill.Reimer@concordia.ca
Wayne KellyProject CoordinatorKellyW@brandonU.ca

 

Liaison Officers

NameInstituteContact
Michael BlatherwickBrandon Universityblatherwickm@brandonu.ca
Marco PaganiUniversità di Bologna, UNIBOmarkpagani@gmail.com

 

Team Leads and Supports

TeamLeadTeam Support
Human Capital and Migration ThemePhilomena deLima

Philomena.deLima@inverness.uhi.ac.uk

Linamar Campos Flores

linamarcamposf@outlook.com

Natural Resources Development Theme

Terri MacDonald

TMacDonald@selkirk.ca

Sarah Breen

sbreen@selkirk.ca

Transformations in Indigenous Communities

Mark Watson

mark.watson@concordia.ca

Sarah Breitkreutz

sara.h.breitkreutz@gmail.com

Governance ThemeKathleen Kevany

kkevany@dal.ca

Sarah Minnes

sminnes@grenfell.mun.ca

Infrastructure and Services Theme

Sean Markey

spmarkey@sfu.ca

Research and Exchanges Activities

Fabio de Menna

Fabio.demenna2@unibo.it

Francesca Regoli

francesca.regoli@unibo.it

Institutes ActivitiesTBA
Policy Fora Activities

Ryan Gibson

Ryan.Gibson@smu.ca

Distance Learning Activities

Brent Steel

bsteel@oregonstate.edu

Publications Activities

Matteo Vittuari

matteo.vittuari@unibo.it

Marco Pagani

markpagani@gmail.com

Digital Information Hub Activities

Phil Loring

phil.loring@usask.ca

Social Media

Bojan Furst

bfurst@mun.ca

 Lauren Omson

lomson@mun.ca

Skip to toolbar